The Unexpected Everything Book Review // Another Masterpiece from Morgan Matson!

17838528Title: The Unexpected Something

Author: Morgan Maton

Rating: 4 stars

Blurb (GR): Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

FLYTIP-0304_blk_review

Capture

Pro’s 

  • Romance – Um, Morgan Matson writes one of the the most awesome summer contemporary reads ever. And of course, a big part of this was the romance. I loved Clark, and Andie soo much. Their time together was so funny, and I love how they got together (even though it did involve a really sick dog).
  • Friendship – This was a perfect example of girl friendship. Not everything is perfect.  Andie’s friends was so supportive of each other. They also played a HUGE part in the book, helping Andie get together with Clark. I also loved Clark’s appreciation for them too.
  • Family – I adore books with good family relations. Or family growth. I LOVE family growth. Andie’s relationship with her dad was of to a really rocky start. But I’m glad they got closer. Her relationship with her dad was so… healthy towards the end of the books.

Con’s 

  • There wasn’t anything I could think of, because this book was AWESOME!

Capture

Andie – Andie is our main character, and she was pretty good. However, there were some times that I didn’t really click with her. For instance, concerning the ”Toby” thing, Andie should’ve straight out told her. Her decisions were sometimes… well I didn’t want to say stupid, but they were stupid. Another instance was her decision with Clark, towards the end of the novel. I felt like she should really have more self-confidence in herself concerning the relationship.
I also thought she was acting a bit snobby when she was accepting a job to dog walk.

Clark – Clark was a really cool character. I found his innocence amusing, especially when he was around Andie. He was a really cool, relatable character. Not to mention, extremely geeky, and cute!

Toby – Toby was one of Andies friends, and kind of the most annoying. I didn;t like her because she seemed so shallow. If you read the book, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Capture

Morgan Matson made Andie’s voice seem so real, it made me forget that this was written by an adult. I loved the structure of this book, because I could feel the pain, happiness our main character was feeling!

FLYTIP_V1_Black_4star

Capture

My rating: 4 stars because this was such a cute, summer read. This was about 519 pages, but I flew through it! Have you ever read this book? What do you think of this book? Are you excited to read this book? What do you think  of Morgan Matson’s previous book Since You Were Gone?? 

7 thoughts on “The Unexpected Everything Book Review // Another Masterpiece from Morgan Matson!

  1. Lovely review! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed this book so much – Morgan Matson write awesome contemporaries 🙂 I agree with you about Andie – I wasn’t okay with all of her decisions at times, either, but that’s the only thing that prevented this book from being very, very greaaat. Clark was such a great love interest! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment