The Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)

23174274Title: The Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)
Author: Victoria Aveyard

Blurb (GR): If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

 

Hawkeye

I enjoyed Red Queen, so I had really high expectations for this book. But, it was a 3-star book.

Capture

The characters I seem to resent. Especially, Mare. I feel like she is just and attention seeker.I mean during her brother’s funeral she see’s her sister comforting Farley, and feels jealous! I mean what kind of person does that! It’s her brother’s funeral! And the only reason, no one comforts you, is because YOUR PUSHING EVERYONE AWAY!

This was basically Mare during the whole book “Oh because I was so stupid, and blind, my cute husband betrayed me, now I must push everyone away, and not trust anyone.” Even Kilorn, her best friend! I mean, like it’s your childhood friend. Stop being so dramatic!

Another thing, is Mare change of character. In Red Queen, Mare was this awesome tough, don’t-mess-with me, strong, type of girl. I didn’t expect for to be broken down so easily. I understand, that she just got double-crossed big time, but this was not what I expected from Mare Barrow, the lightning girl, the Red Queen. This is how I imagined her the whole time reading the book,

tumblr_micl31jtoh1s62akeo1_250

 

Kind of harsh, but true.

*end of rant*

Cal 

There was not a lot of Mare and Cal moments in the story, but I still don’t understand Cal. The whole time, he’s being described like he has some major anger issue’s. Any minute, I felt like he was going to break out like the Hulk.

giphy

Compared to Mare, I don’t know that much about him.

Capture

Mare Barrow lives in a world that is separated by the color of  blood. Red’s are commoners forced to do labour, and work for the Silvers. As you can tell, Silvers have silver blood, that gives them super-natrual abilties like controling water (nymph), or controling metal (magnetron). No Red has ever been able to do that. Until, Mare who has the power to control lightning, and electricity.

Mare finds out that she is actually a mutation like her brother, Shade (who can teleport). She joins a group called the Scarlet Gaurd, to get equality for Red’s and Silvers. And also, to fight the war. To build an army, Mare has to track down other new bloods (Red’s with Silver abilitires) and defeat Maven.

First of all, I’d like to talk about the ending. It left me like this: z91jd

and this

wthhh

and this 

7nzn7hc

(Sorry for the over-use of gif’s, but you gotta admit, it’s funny)

Like, what… Mare how could you! I should’ve waited until the WHOLE series come’s out, because I can’t take the suspense! I just can’t!

Now that we got that over with.

In some parts of the story, I felt like it was too over dramatic, and boring. There was so much italics. So much repeating of the thoughts. In my opinion, the most said line in this book is, Anyone can betray anyone. But I guess that’s the lesson. Don’t trust cute prince’s, cause they’ll betray you, and possibly kill you.

There were a lot of action scene’s that wasn’t even like action scene’s. I had to skip a lot of the pages, because it was just Mare feeling sorry for herself. Which was, HELLA annoying! GROW UP ALREADY!  You have a war to face, people to train, stop feeling sorry for yourselve’s! Please, and thank you.

The newblood scenes were actually kind of cool. Like, if you imagined it in your head it looks awesome! One action scene I did find cool was when, Mare and Harrick, and the rest of the crew were going to get a newblood. But it was a trap, and Harrick turned them invisible. Then they found a baby drenched in blood. Okay the baby in blood part was not cool, but the note from Maven, that was cool.

Red Queen is becoming a movie! Find out here (not sponsered).

Capture

The voice set like a depresing mood, because like I said Mare was so depressed in the book. And so many italics! But it was very overdramatic in a lot of scene’s. I will most likely, be reading the next book because, OMG that ending doe.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)

Leave a comment