Blogging Under a Pseudonym: Harmful or Helpful? // I reveal my “secret identity” (PLEASE READ WHOLE POST)

When I first started Nerd in New York, I really had to sit down, and think about a lot of things. Blogging sounds much easier said than done. There are a whole bunch of factors that I grew to learn about during my first month of blogging. And one of them was blogging with my real name or not.

If you can’t already tell, I obviously chose to blog under a pseudonym because of… various reasons (which I get into later on), but now as my 2 year blogiverasry is approaching I’m sort of regretting that decision. And they’re many reasons for that.

P R O ‘ S

  • Honestly, the whole reason why I chose too make a pseudenoym in the first place was because of I didn’t want anyone to find out about this blog anyway. It’s a little ashaming to say, but I was pretty embarrassed.  There were so many reasons to judge me because of this blog because it didn’t seem like naything a regular teenager would do. So having a fake name was like a security blanket. No one would associate this blog to me.
  • Whole new me! – Creating a new name was like creating a new person – for me- anyway. Balie is supposed to be a confident, funny, smart, and above all, a good blogger. And after a while, it worked. I loved this online persona I made, and I guess 769 other people did too
  • I am a shy smol bean – Gosh, I’m so shyyyy I have about 8 friends total. I’m not lying when I say I’m a HUGE introvert. So when I made this blog revealing my name was out of the question. It would freak me out to know that people on the internet read, and commented about my opinons online

C O N ‘ S

  • So much pressure!! – Blogging under a pseudonym meant I have to create two versions of almost EVERYTHING. Creating a new email, new social media (Instagram, Twitter, Facebook Tumblr etc…) , and then making sure that I don’t accidentally mix the two up. One time my IRL friend asked me why my instagram name was Balie, and I freaked out. I realized that I followed her under my bookstagram because I’m dumb , and forgot to switch accounts.

sm68wl

  • I’m really proud of what I had accomplished so far… – Getting books BEFORE they even come out, having a large following, able to communicate with people, discuss about major things. Those are just a few golden sides too blog blogging. I’m so proud of what I have accomplished so far, and I literally want to climb on top of the mountain and scream it to everyone. Did ya see that development right there? I went from being embarrassed about my blog, to being super prideful about it
  • Blogging under a fake name takes away some credibility for what I have done so far, because people will automatically thing that it’s not me, but someone else. I don’t want that too happen. I want my IRL friends too see this, and think “damn my friend is a genius” (because coding is super hard okay).
  • Creating a whole new image – So I know I listed this as a pro as well, but it can also be a con. After a while, I was tired of Balie. It didn’t really feel… me. I didn’t feel authentic. Balie wasn’t me, which I guess was the point of creating a fake blogging name. Over time, I didn’t like this name for me, it sounded so generic, and boring. And I was favoring my real name more. And this led me too this new decision:

I have decided to actually reveal my actual identity! 

I mean it’s super obvious from the actual title that I would do this but whatever.

Hi, I’m the main blogger behind Nerd In New York! My name is Amena!! 

tenor
actual image of me

So from now on when any of you guys tag me, comment, or address me please make sure to use my real name!

I understand that it might be a bit weird, but hopefully we could get used to it.

Here are some facts about me

  • I’m Bengali (a country almost right next to India, but NOT IN INDIA)
  • I’m a Muslim teen (turning 15 soon enough)
  • I’m really scared of dogs (I was traumatized when a German Shepard tried to bite ,y hand off)
  • I have a weird shaped birthmark near my elbow which looks like a crescent moon
  • I have an unhealthy addiction to drama (lol)
  • I also listen to kpop, and watch kdrama’s (if you want me to listen/watch anything comment down below!!)

Capture

Ahem… so I get that could get really weird. I’m literally changing MY WHOLE FREAKING NAME! But like it’s okay, I guess. So what are your thoughts on using a pseudonym in the blogging community? Have you ever used one? Would you ever use one? 

 

30 thoughts on “Blogging Under a Pseudonym: Harmful or Helpful? // I reveal my “secret identity” (PLEASE READ WHOLE POST)

  1. Hey Amena!
    I was iffy about using my real name as well..but I do use my first name or at least have it listed in the Bio section. Otherwise, I like to use my screen name/alias 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH MY GOD AMENA I LOVE THIS!!! I had no idea Balie was a pseudonym (and for some reason I thought you were going to college next year??? lmao) but I definitely feel you!! tbh I’ve thought of doing a post about the pros and cons of pseudonyms and switching to my real name as well, but I’m not entirely sure I want to go with it yet. I feel like May is me, and I know that it can be really refreshing when something bad happens, I can switch different “identities” and pretend it never happened to that one?? but idk, I’m still thinking on it. but I LOVE YOUR NAME!!!! go you for doing this ❤

    Like

    1. Mayyy, you’re so nice, and wonderful, and ily. Honestly, a lot of thinking went into this whole “name reveal”, but I’m so glad that I’m receiving so much positive outlook. I think another reason why I chose too reveal my real name was because Balie sounded as if it were a white person name, and that’s not what I am. I’m a POC and my name represents that (as it is not an everyday common name like: Mark or Jenna).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Amena!
    I thought about using a pseudonym, because the internet is a scary place and strangers, but I decided against it because I knew I’d get to confused trying to remember what name I chose. 😂 It would be fun to kind of reinvent yourself like you said!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi! I get this post so much! I also created a username not my real name, but I think many people know my real name but still I will consider use my real one in the future.
    So… you like kpop ♥♥♥
    I am such a fan of got7, vixx, vav, SuJu and I just discovered their music like two months ago #noregrets ♥

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello *waves* I’m guessing your username is ‘Nina Rapsodia’, and I always liked the name Nina!!

      I’m also an igot7!! Have you head about BamBam’s military enlistment.? I’m really happy for him!! I want to get into Vixx because I really like their music (Shangri-La is my all-time fave), but I don’t have time. I know you just joined the kpop fandom, but are you listening to any girl groups, or EXO or even BTS?

      Like

  5. Hi Amena! Nice to e-meet you haha 😀
    I really love this post and totally agree with your pros and cons! I understand the need for pseudonyms and anonymity, especially since the internet can be very intimidating. I don’t know if I want to do a ‘blogger reveal’ anytime soon, but I was thinking about it. Plus, ‘Maddie’ is actually a nickname, and everyone I know calls me that haha 😀
    Anyway, fellow Muslim here! Currently living in Malaysia for my internship.
    I’m always on the lookout for new friends so don’t be shy and feel free to talk to me 🙂
    Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. AMENAAA WHY DIDN’T YOU EVER TELL ME??!! Although I do get why you didn’t. I used to write under pseudonyms but the only problem was that I always came up with the cringiest name ever.
    But I do get why you chose a pseudonym. The internet can be very scary and intimidating. I wasn’t actually ready to reveal my name for I don’t know how long.
    ALSOOOOO…..you’re going to be 15 soon. Gosh we’re almost the same age. That makes me even more scared? I mean I am not scared by you, obviously not. But talking to people my age is pretty scary. Gahhh I don’t know what I am saying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gurl, I feel you!! Like for some reason I’m a bit more comfortable talking to younger or older people, but not really my age for some reason. Like I have friends my age, but like I fell like they sometimes expect me to wear some high priced shoes, and go bowling with them or something, but I’d rather read a book lol… But you can talk to me anytime!! You’re automatically one of my friends because you like listening to kpop (also DID YOU SEE THE euphoria VIDEO, I WAS SO EMOTIONAL UGHHH)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Amena! (Pretty name by the way 😊) Trust me you’re not alone with the introverted thing. I only have four friends IRL and I only get to see two of them when I have have free time.

    Like

  8. Hey, Amena! I love your name and I’m so happy that you’re confident enough to take this step and go public 💕💕💕 It can be hard to be public, but I think your decision is super incredible and I hope you can brag about your amazing blog to all your friends. Because coding is insanely hard and you deserve major round of applause. 🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻
    Also, I think it’s so cool that you’re from Bengali! And I’ve never listened to Kpop but so many people keep mentioning it, that I think I’ll have to soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi Amena, it’s so good to officially meet you ahah 😀 I didn’t know that Balie was a pseudonym and I admire you for taking this new step – talking with your real name might be a bit stressful online, I can understand that, but you’re amazing and you should be proud and everyone should see this blog and everything you do and just congratulate you, look, Amena is pretty awesome 😀
    (Also, I’m not a fan of dogs either. Maybe small ones? haha)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. hi?
    i;m just seeing all this gushing and i’m awkward now…
    it’s pretty cool that you were confident enough to reveal your real name. i honestly wish i could do that. i totally relate to the thing about being perceived as white tho, because my username it pretty generic-ish i guess. i just hope people don’t assume i’m something i’m not? idk, that was weird.
    *hugs*

    Like

  11. HI AMENA. Don’t worry, this is not weird at all, I think it’s really awesome that you felt confident enough to use your real name and that it’s great that you’re no longer embarrassed about your blog, but rather proud of it! 🙂 You’ve put a lot of work into your blog, so you should definitely be proud ❤️

    Like

  12. i use a pen name and i like it! definitely agree with the pros and cons tho and i always feel if i was in the acknowledgements of a book under “ilsa” it wouldn’t be as cool! Hello Amena!!! This is super cool, I love your name, it’s beautiful ❤

    Like

Leave a comment