The Girl At Midnight Book Review // An Action-Packed Read!

20345202Title: The Girl At Midnight

Author: Mellisa Grey

Rating: 4 stars

Blurb (GR): Magic lives in our darkest corners.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants…and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

FLYTIP-0304_blk_review

plot

Pro’s

  • Story – I loved almost everything about this book because it has so much action-packed layers too it. It has some sub-plots, but not enough to confuse. Just to make you love it more! Like many people said, this story was similar to Daughter of Smoke and Bone. But not by much. The ending was less confusing, and more organized.
  • World Building – The fantasy world in, which this book takes place in lives underneath out modern world. Underneath famous sites (or sometimes regular stores) is a magical society called the Avciens (I dunno if I’m spelling it correctly). They are like people, but with bird plumage. And then there is their long hated enemy, the Drakharin (I’m pretty sure I spelled it wrong) dragon people, who can’t fly.  An ancient story about a firebird, said to bring peace to the two races. And it’s up too Echo, and her friends to find it. I loved how this world was put together!
  • Romance – surprisingly, there was romance! I really didn’t expect to find it in this novel, but I did! And I loved it. The chemistry was phenomenal. And the romance overall, was a bit slow, but cute. There was no love triangles or squares, whatsoever.

Cons

  • The beginning – It was a bit slow, and boring to start with.

 

plot

Echo – Echo’s snarkiness, and sassiness was on point. That girl had a comeback for everything, and it was really funny to watch (or read) her fight with everyone else. I liked her humour, and most importantly her character development. She changed throughout the book as a better person, who valued her friends.

Caius – Tbh, I don’t know how you pronounce his name. I say “Caius” even though I know that’s really wrong. But he was a sweet Dragon Prince, and really innocent.  I loved his hard-working, and caring personality.

Tanith – CURSE YOU, TANITH! She was so cruel, and bloodthirsty, like stop okay?!! AND NOT TO MENTION SO ANNOYING. She always comes in, just when it becomes juicy.

Ivy – She is such a great best friend, so supportive, and loving too Echo. I also love how she has this hidden bad-ass side to her, and how kind she is. I really thought she would end up with Dorain, but she didn’t

Dorian – ASDFGHJKL, his bromance with Caius and his romance with Jasper was so…. KYAA! I’m not making any sense, but read the book and you know what I mean, lol.

plot

The writing style was phenomenal! It flowed so easily, and since it was told in different P.O.V’S it blended in with the persons personality.  Each character has his or her own voice. I enjoyed reading this book!

 

 

 

plot

eader

4 stars! I really did enjoy this book, and think it’s perfect for fantasy lovers out there! The cover also looks gorgeous.

eader

Did you read it yet? Do you plan on to? Do you plan to? If you did read it,  what did you think of it? Who were your favorite characters? Who was you least favorite character? 

14 thoughts on “The Girl At Midnight Book Review // An Action-Packed Read!

  1. I’ve seen this series around a lot and the author pops up in my twitter feed a ton but I never took the time to look into the books. The Avicen certainly sound very interesting though, I like the idea of feather hair and I mean dragon people is just straight up awesome! I’ll be sure to check my local library for a copy!

    Also forgot to mention this last time but I’m so excited to be your comment challenge partner this month (even though the month is technically half over, oops…)! Sorry I haven’t been commenting more, I’ve been pretty busy with a new blog design and such.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

