Bookstagram: Pro’s and Cons // Let’s Discuss, Is It Really Worth IT??

FLYTIP-0304_blk_discussions

Heyyy everyone! ๐Ÿ˜

Welcome to another discussion post on my blog! Today I am going to discuss bookstgram. Bookstagram is basically an Instagram, but you take pictures of books. A lot of books. In this post, I’ll be discussing the pro’s, and con’s of bookstagramming.

What Is A Bookstagram?

Like, I said a bookstagram is an Instagram account, but rather than taking pictures of yourself, you take pictures of books! It’s a great way to rave about a cover, and spread some book buzz!

Capture

  • Meet new friends –ย The internet is a great place too meet new people. Instagram is just a small part of this vast world. But it is very large. In Instagram I met soo many people who share the same taste as me, and my DM’S are filled with CAPS-LOCKS messages about this certain book.
  • Earn some more followers –ย If your pictures are really good, most people will probably check out your links. I’m speaking this from personal experience, because I do this myself. I check out peoples instagram, if they have a blog I check it out, and if it’s too my liking I’ll follow them!
  • Find your new hobby –ย Although, I am on a hiatus taking pictures of books was kind of my hobby. Before (or sometimes after) I read a book, I usually take a photo. Before long, it became a habit.
  • Satisfyingย –ย Just looking at your great feed, that YOU worked hard on can be so satisfying. It could also can give you a confidence boost, and who doesn’t mind that?

Capture

  • Time-consuming –ย Not everyone has time too spend hours waiting for the perfect lighting, and getting props ready for books. Plus, making tags takes forever!
  • Stressful –ย There are so many components for a bookstagram to be good. Perfect lighting, aesthetic feed, hashatgs, captions… It can be pretty stressful. You’re expecting likes, follows, and comments. And if you don’t… you can feel pretty dissapointed.
  • Too much materials –ย  You need lighting, a good camera, props, and that amounts too a lot of $$$. And money don’t grow on trees, people.

Capture

MY STAND

I do have an Instagram account, but I am currently in hiatus. I don’t know if I’m going back too taking pictures. I think other people should definitely ย try it out, because you never know what is going to inspire you!

Capture

Will you ever make a bookstagram? Do you have one? What’s your username, so I could stalk you?ย  What is your stance on bookstagram? And a fun bookish question: What is your favorite character ๐Ÿ˜› ?ย 

 

25 thoughts on “Bookstagram: Pro’s and Cons // Let’s Discuss, Is It Really Worth IT??

  1. I’m horrible at photography… so I may not make a bookstagram account…. but I really really want to ๐Ÿ˜… I do have a blogstagram account @teenmemoir . I think bookstagraming is great, but like you said, it takes a lot of time and effort… ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE bookstagram (@nutfreenerd), but I definitely take a relaxed approach to it. I post a few times a week and try not to focus too much on the numbers of likes/followers I get. I just love the bookish community and looking at everyone’s gorgeous photos โค Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love taking pictures of books but I don’t think I have enough material to make them bookstagram worthy. I also feel more comfortable in showing them off on goodreads and on my blog so for now I’ll just stick to that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love taking photos of books… but just take photos of books. No props. XD So I guess it would be a VERY minimalist stylenon bookstagram! Honestly, I don’t have enough books to take photos of — the ones I get are library books… and THE GLAAAAAARE.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My instagram account is kinda a weird mix between bookstagram and then pics of myself with books or just in my daily life. Why? Not sure. I could make seperate accounts, personal and then just for my book posts, but it just seems like so much work! I LOVE going through others’ bookstagrams and gaining inspiration and no matter how hard I try, no matter how long I wait for the perfect lighting, no matter how many props I accumulate, my bookstagram posts never seems to compare.
    All in all, bookstagram is stressful, yet once you get the hang of it, a great hobby and wonderful way to meet other bibliophiles.
    Great post! Thanks for sharing ! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have one! It used to be personal but now the handle is my blog name because books > selfies unless they’re shelfies or selfies with books! Anyway! I have some props lying around but definitely not as many as other accounts showcase. I don’t have enough of a photography inclination to arrange them in a way that makes it less noticeable either! XD But I’m trying to work with what I have and make it pretty anyway. It’s hard sometimes, and unavoidable comparing myself, but if one really does enjoy it then it’s worth it!

    My acc is @reveriesociety_ aaand my fav character has to be Quintana from the Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta. Oh but also Puck, from the Iron Fey series, because that guy is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A little late to the party, but I just wanted to add that I have a Bookstagram and love it! Connecting with the book community has become my favourite hobby. I take a more relaxed approach though and have a very basic feed because I can’t afford/don’t have time for props. Mostly plain book photos on a clean white background. If anyone wants to connect, I’m @o.m.g.books and I always follow back other bookstagram accounts ๐Ÿ˜Š this was a great discussion – sorry I missed it originally!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

