The Edge of Everything // A HUGE Letdown

22296822Title: The Edge of Everything

Author: Jeff Giles

Blurb (GR): For the perfect love, what would you be willing to lose?

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods—only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. X is forbidden from revealing himself to anyone other than his prey, but he casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As they learn more about their colliding worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future.

FLYTIP-0304_blk_review

Capture

Pro’s

6358916763474942771348241136_i20got20nothing

Con’s 

  • Insta-love- I detested the romance that ocurred between Zoe, and X. It got off to a rocky start.  Zoe, and X hardly know each other yet, they feel an “instant connection”.   X is always risking everything (including his freedom) for some teenager who has issues.
  • Animal Abuse – What’s with the beating up dogs in this book? People dying, but dOGS ARE A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT MATTER.
  • Too much information, less action – The beginning was just lumps, and lumps of information. There wasn’t anything important going on, so the book started pretty bad.
  • Obvious Plot – Plot twist? What plot twist?

74510505cf688746871484c29b5d4f67-funny-gifs-hilarious

It was so freaking obvious, I don”t know if it should be defined as a “plot twist”.

Capture

Zoe – Zoe does a lot of dumb things in this book. First, she lets out her ADHD brother, and dogs in a freaking blizzard. After, she sees a guy without a shirt, about to kill someone she takes, a photo and puts it on INSTAGRAM! She keeps on being a jerk to her ex, and obsesses over X.

nothinginmybrain

X-  He wasn’t as bad as Zoe, and I liked that he grew stronger (mentally),throughout the course of this book. He was kind, and far different from what you’d expect a guy born in hell would be.

Capture

I did not like the writing of this book AT ALL. It sounded like the author was trying wayy to hard to sound funny. There was a pacing problem in this book.

Capture FLYTIP-0304_blk_summary

A short recap: I disliked most of the plot, the main character was really stupid, and the voice was cringey.

FLYTIP_V1_Black_2star

Capture

What do you think of this book? What do you think of this review? Was this helpful? How do you feel about insta-love, and dumb characters? What do you think of these new graphics?! They’re from Lola @ Flylef!  

11 thoughts on “The Edge of Everything // A HUGE Letdown

  1. Omg those gifs are GREAT. And aaagghhh I don’t think I’ll be reading this book because ZOE SOUNDS SO FREAKING STUPID. And animal abuse whyyyy. *wails* ALSO I HATE INSTALOVE SO JUST NO.

    Love the new graphics, Balie! Great review, too, I laughed a lot. 😉

    Like

  2. Hey and also…I know you are busy and I’m sorry that in bugging u and asking u a lot of questions about it..but its been a really long time since we worked on the tag…I understand that you may be busy but you haven’t replied to any of my emails and I’m not sure if u want to continue…its fine if you want to back out, but if you want to continue..pls pls let me know when you are free because I really want to work on it…
    Thanks for reading…and I also sent a message to u on instagram
    Namitha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read this book, but I’m a huge advocate of NO insta-love. I hate it. I hate it SO MUCH. Based on what you dislike about this book, I’ll probably dislike it too. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

