Mini Review Take Over! // 3 Books. 3 Reviews.

Hello everyone, welcome to another Friday book review! Today, I’m going to be doing a series of mini reviews because I’m to lazy to do a full review I haven’t done these in a while.

 

Capture

Make It Yours Book Review

This book was super fun,  creative, and cute! I found out so many ways to make so many different things (including stamps, stationery). This is my first time reviewing a creative DIY book, so my apologies if it is a little rocky 😅

Pro’s 

  • PRETTY – This book has this clean, beautiful aesthetic around it which made it pleasing to read. There were pictures that explained steps, showed the finishing piece, and just showing the supplies.
  • PRACTICAL – Not only was this really good to look at, it was helpful! It provided clear step-by-step instructions on how to create a specific project. I also liked how it gave you the difficulty level in the beginning of the project. There were also separate pages with fonts, doodles that you could use for your project. I used it myself to create this bookstagram poster!

Capture

The author is hosting a giveaway.  Enter to win a chance to win Make It Yours, and a gold Color Wheel Cloisonné necklace (This is an Instagram giveaway)   

Capture

Me, and Earl, and The Dying Girl Book Review

12700353Title: Me, and Earl, and The Dying Girl

Author: Jesse Andrews

Rating: 4/5 stars

Blurb (GR): Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.

Look! Who’s that laughing maniac who’s also trying not to cry?? OH IT’S ME!

I loved this book to death, and it’s very hard to write a review because I’m to busy trying not laugh/cry.

Pro’s 

  • Really Funny – This book made me LOL so many times! I enjoyed the humor put in the book. It was quite different from my expectations.I was expecting a The Fault In Our Stars rip-off, but it was completely different!
  • Great Characters –  Greg was a bit frustrating because of his ignorance, but I enjoyed reading though his perspective. I saw how much he changed from the beginning of the book, to the end of the book, and it kind of made up for it. But the character I really enjoyed reading about was Earl. He is described as the “gangster type”, but in some parts of the book,we saw his good parts. He was a really good friend (although, I’m pretty pissed about the end) to Greg, and sets him straight when he needs too.
  • Brutally Honest – The thing about this book was that it didn’t beat around the bush. It went into ALL the parts of cancer. The happy parts,  the sad parts, and the awkward parts (there were a lot of those). There wasn’t a solid mood about this book, which I’m glad for because it shows that cancer is not that sad, nor is it really happy.
  • Breaks the 4th Wall Quite Well – Narrators sometimes just “talk” to the reader, which is annoying because A) It’s making the author look like it’s trying to hard to make the book seem “funny” and B) It’s awkward. Greg however, talked to the reader, and didn’t make it seem like either of those things. It felt like a person was just talking.

Con’s 

  • There was little/no plot – This is just a series of events leading up to… NOTHING (except maybe Rachel’s death. OMG I’M SO CRUEL).It was just a pile of pages, and I got really bored towards the end of the novel.
  • Didn’t really enjoy the ending – I didn’t like what Earl, and Greg decided too do in the end. That’s all I’m saying.

Capture

 Girl Overboard Book Review

 

546443Title: Girl Overboard

Author: Justina Chen

Rating: 3/5 stars

Blurb (GR): Everybody thinks Syrah is the golden girl. After all, her father is Ethan Cheng, billionaire, and she has everything any kid could possibly desire: a waterfront mansion, jet plane, and custom-designed snowboards. But most of what glitters in her life is fool’s gold. Her half-siblings hate her, her best friend’s girlfriend is ruining their friendship, and her own so-called boyfriend is only after her for her father’s name. When her broken heart results in a snowboarding accident that exiles her from the mountains-the one place where she feels free and accepted for who she is, not what she has-can Syrah rehab both her busted-up knee, “and” her broken heart?
Justina Chen Headley writes with an engaging wit and a powerful, distinct voice. Her first novel, “Nothing But the Truth (and a few white lies) “was a Border’s Original Voices nominee, a Book Sense pick, and received a starred review from “Publisher’s Weekly: “”Headley makes an impressive debut with this witty, intimate novel.”

I enjoyed reading this book for multiple reasons (reasons that I will list, because this a review, duh.)

Pro’s 

  • Interesting premise – We all read that rich girls have it all. Designer clothes, shoes, bags, dresses etc… Well, this is about a rich girl who seems to have it all, but in reality she’s broken (physically, and mentally) just as everyone else. I enjoyed reading about Syrah’s life, and how she tackled her fears.
  • Breaks The Gender Barrier – I know many people who think snowboarding is a “boys” sports. To be honest, I also thought that snowboarding was more of a guys sport. This book broke that gender barrier in a subtle, but effective way. This also shown some light on the expectations placed on girls. Syrah is considered fat in her family, which ruins her family images. However, in the end Syrah changed her views on her weight. She realized that how she looks doesn’t really matter, and there are other important things (Like tying to save your BFF’s sister from dying form cancer) than her appearance.
  • Great Character Development – Like stated above, Syrah changed her ways, and her opinion on what matters the most (like peoples’s opinion of her looks). It was fun too see her progress, and yell at her for doing the stupidest things.

Con’s 

  • Whiny Narrator – Syrah was great, and all, but what’s with all the whining?? She literally cried about (not so) pathetic life half the book. She cleared up during the later half of the book, but it was still aggravating.
  • Horrible Romance – In my reviews I try not to use negative words, but there wasn’t any gentler way to say I hated the romance. I didn’t like the love interest, and I din’t like how Syrah, and him ended up falling in love. Every time he showed up in the book, I sensed an anger storm brewing in me. I thought the guy was selfish, annoying, and really not worth Syrah’s time at all 😦

Capture

 

So what do you think of my reviews? Were these reviews helpful? Let me know!

10 thoughts on “Mini Review Take Over! // 3 Books. 3 Reviews.

  1. Omg you made that bookstagram poster yourself??? TEACH ME YOUR WAYS, CHILD. And how dare you spoil the ending of Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl??? Also it’s really great to see books about leukemia because my mother was (is?) diagnosed with it as well. 🙂 AGH I’VE ONLY GONE SKIING AND I WANT TO TRY SNOWBOARDING SOME TIME!!! And whiny characters are the worse. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

