Carve The Mark Book Review // A Book That Really Let Me Down

30117284Title: Carve The Mark

Author: Veronica Roth

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Blurb (GR): In a galaxy powered by the current, everyone has a gift.

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual currentgift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get this brother out alive — no matter what the cost.
The Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?
Carve the Mark is Veronica Roth’s stunning portrayal of the power of friendship — and love — in a galaxy filled with unexpected gifts.

Capture

Pro’s of the plot

  • Nothing

Problems

  • Confusing Plot (Most Similar to Divergent) – The whole story is like Divergent. It’s set in a future world (with a lot of sci-fi elements), there is a cruel tyrant, and there are a group of rebels that plan to overthrow this guy. The plot/story of this book was just too confusing. I didn’t get anything that happened in the beginning. It was just dumped on the book, and it left me with confused thoughts. I have many questions, like what the heck is “the current”, and how does it work? I don’t get the whole sojourn thing either? It was mentioned in the beginning, but like I said a lot of things were mentioned in the beginning.
  • Romance – I just didn’t get the chemistry between Akos, and Cyra. They were very kind to each other, so it was a bit weird. They acted like brothers, and sisters to each other (which is a weird way to think about it, I know. (But the signs were there) ). The romance obviously played a key part in the plot. Without Akos, Cyra would never do, what she did. But I really don’t understand it.
  • Racial Issues?? – A few bloggers like Alyssa @ The Eater of Books said that there are racial issues in the book. Shotet are described as dark-skinned warrior-people, and Thuvhe were light-skinned, and not as savage as the Shotet. And the “current gifts” were more violent when it came to  I also caught notice of this, when I was reading the book, and also was a bit bewildered. I think it does need to be addressed.  

 

Capture

Characters

Akos – Really Akos is super sweet, and I liked his character development throughout the story.  He had admirable traits, like his kindness. He was an interesting character. I found it a bit surprising given the circumstances. His dad was killed in front of him, his brother was stripped of life, and his sister disappeared. All because of the Shotet. Yet. he fell in love with the princess of their people. I thought he would change into a more hard-core teenager. But I’m not complaining…

Cyra – Cyra is probably one of my most favorite girl characters in the entire book universe. At first, she was weak against her brothers power. However, she challenges her brother, and stands up for herself, and Akos. There was this one scene that really demonstrated her warrioress, that really showed her character development. I really enjoyed watching her grow as a character.

Capture

The writing style is really different than Veronica Roth’s other works. I found it more better than the Divergent series. It made the book sound more sci-fi. There was dual P.OV, which was a bit weird. Cyra’s P.O.V was written in first person, and Akos was written in third person. I prefer writing styles in first person, but third person wasn’t bad.  

continue

6 thoughts on “Carve The Mark Book Review // A Book That Really Let Me Down

  1. Whoa, POV in first person, then POV in third person? Um, no. Sorry. Just don’t???

    I’ve heard that there has been lots of controversy surrounding this book, particularly the racism aspect of it. I know that Veronica Roth had addressed it, but I think it didn’t go very well. I’m not particularly excited to read this book, because of all the negative opinions surrounding it and the fact that it takes place in outer space (and I’m not fond of sci-fi like that). I liked Divergent though, so I guess I’m willing to try???

    Liked by 1 person

    • You should try to read this book, and let me know what you think. I also wasn’t sure about this book, but the cover drew me in. Maybe, that’s the only good thing about this book. Oh yeah, the world-building/setting wasn’t great either. It was so unrealistic. But like I said before, you should try to read it.I genuinely am looking forward to hear what you think! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I will! And yeah, the cover’s pretty. XD Hmm, you have to be careful with the worldbuilding of sci-fi settings, and okay! Once I read it, I’ll let you know how I think of it. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

