Carry On Book Review // A Well Written Rainbow Rowell Book With A Lot of Monsters

23734628Title: Carry On

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Blurb (GR):Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here – it’s their last year at Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a love letter to love stories and the power of words – to every ‘chosen one’ who ever had more on their mind than saving the world…

 

 

Pros of the plot 

  • Action Scenes – I know Rainbow Rowell is a contemporary author, who writes a lot of realistic fiction books, so I wasn’t expecting a lot for this book. But everything from start to finish was amazing. I’m not referring to just the action scenes, I’m talking about all the scenes. It seemed well thought out, and nothin like this authors previous works. The author was very detailed about everything, and it was cute,.
  • Plot twists – From reading Fangirl I knew a lot of dramatic stuff were going to happen (like the Mage being Simon’s dad), but there were a lot of stuff the author threw my way, that caught me off guard. The author presented this into a format that was designed to catch you off guard. This book seriously kept me on my toes. The twists also fit in with the rest of the story, meaning that it didn’t come out of the blue.
  • Friend Dynamics – This book showed countless examples of friends being their for each other. It represented friendship, and the meaning of it was expressed, and it made my heart glow. Because we all know supporting chahracters really run the show.
  • Romance – Ummm this is a Rainbow Rowell book, so of course the romance was a 5/5! Snowbaz is in the top of my long (long, long, long) list of OTP’S! Simon, and Baz’s chemistry was so sweet, and the part when they first kissed was so awesome. It involved fire, vampires, and pain, so of course it’s awesome. I also liked how the relationsip between Simon and Baz progressed from enemies-to-frenemies-too lovers!

Problems of the plot 

Nothing. There was literally nothing I hated about the plot of Carry On. 

Capture

Simon – Character rating: 3.5/5 stars. He wasn’t that much of a great main characters. He got on my nerves millions of times throughout the book. He was really loud, arrogant, short-tempered, and annoying. There were some sayings (said by Simon) that made me grit my teeth. However, I didn’t hate him that much because he had a lot of depth as a character.

Baz – Baz was definitely  one of favorite characters because he was cool, and awesome in everything he does. He also has this vulnerability that made me want to hug him to death. He could be a sarcastic jerk sometimes, but there’s always a good reason behind it.

Penelope – Penelope was probably the best character. I loved her diversity as a character. She’s half-Indian, and half-white, but all smart. She’s fierce, and not afraid too say the truth. And her ability to think on her feet is amazing. But best of all, she’s Simon best friend. She’s always there to help him, and experienced a traumatic event with him. She’s Penelope Bunce!

Agatha – I hated her because, she ditched Simon, and his friends IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BATTLE!! That was really messed up, because hello THEY’RE YOUR FRIENDS! And then, she quit magic all together. It’s trival compared too everything that happened in the books, but I would’ve jumped at the chance to do magic, and she decides to leave it! I couldn’t really understand her choices about leaving the magical world, or her other choices. I couldn’t really connect with her, period.

Capture

It’s a Rainbow Rowel book, of course 5/5 stars for the writing! I loved how the author switched from P.O.V to P.O.V because it brought of realism to the book.

continue

2 thoughts on “Carry On Book Review // A Well Written Rainbow Rowell Book With A Lot of Monsters

Leave a Reply

