The Mini Review Files #2 // Young Adult Editon

Hello everyone, it’s been so long since I’ve done a review, but life has gotten in the way. Since I can’t find closure without doing a review for a book, but I have no time it’s easier doing a mini review! Today I’m reviewing about 3 books.

Title: The Fifth Petal

Author: Brunonia Barry

Goodreads

Rating: 4 stars

Review: The Fifth Petal reached beyond my expectations. This was about a murder commited in Halloween night by Rose. A former scholar, but now Salems resident phsco. The murder also fueled open one other case. The murder of three young girls.

Rose was also there, along with a young girl named Cally. Rafferty, the towns police chief is the head of the case, and investigates it along with Cally. Secrets are uncovered, and Salem faces a new wave of magic never seen before…

The thing I thought was the best was the writing of the author. I couldn’t believe that this was only her second book! Next, I loved almost all the characters. They weren’t paper-cut thin, but rather had many sidea to them, and we’re all developed. Cally, was a great protagonist. Her character seemed the most realistic, considering the fact she witnessed her mothers death. I liked how rational, and smart she was. She reminded me of Heromione Granger. The plot was suspenseful and mysterious. This is defenitley not a light read, because there were a lot of details to take in. However, I recommend this book to everyone!!


Title: The Love That Split The World

Author: Emily Henry

Rating: 3.5 stars

Review: After reading The Fifth Petal reading this book seemed like a breeze. This book is about Natalie who’s originally Native American, but is adopted into a white family. She gets nightly visits from “Grandmother” who comforts her with meaningful stories. Then Grandmother leaves with an abrupt warning “three months too save him” not leaving any idea who “he” is.

Natalie as a character was a decent character. There were times when I connected with her, and sometimes I found her just plain annoying. She got on my nerves, because all she did was cry, and cry. However, at times I found Natalie helpful, kickass and even smart! It was plain obvious that “him” was Beau. Beau was perfect. Too perfect. I felt that Beau didn’t have a lot of side too him, and was just this perfect character. He was just so one cut it was a bit cringey.

The plot was interesting, but towards the end it got really confusing. I was at a loss of words for what happened towards the end. It was like a rush of things all jam packed into a few pages. Another thing was that the plot for  this book was really predicable. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out who “he” is, or who Grandmother is.

However, I wasn’t ready for the cliffhanger in the end. Did Natalie end up with Beau? Or did she die? I have a lot of questions.


Title: Bone Gap

Author: Laura Ruby

Rating: 4 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Review: Bone Gap was a wonderful story about a sleepy town in the countryside. Finns friend Roza goes missing, and he’s the only one who saw her get kidnapped. He’s the only one who continues looking, even though everyone else stopped.

First, I’d to talk about the plot. The ending was so confusing. It was just like The Love That Split The World but 2x more confusing. It was a series of events packed into 3 pages. The ending was also a bit too happy for my taste. It would’ve been alright if Roza died. There was also a lot of plot twists that I did not see coming.

The romance between Finn and Petey were so beautiful, and delicate I loved it! I really want to say hats off the author because the  romance was beautiful. I love the idea of 2 broken, and insecure people coming together to create a whole person.


That’s it for my reviews. Finally I reviewed these because I felt really bad for not reviewing as much.

Leave a Reply

