Shiver Book Review// Totally Different From The Raven Boys!

6068551Title: Shiver

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Blurb (GR): For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

Capture

  • Romance – Everyone knows that I love a cute romance!! And this had sooo much fluff 😊😊. The chemistry between Sam, and Grace was sizzling. It was a bit like insta-love, and this might be one of the few times it worked brilliantly. I did however, feel like the romance was a bit too sudden for my taste. Sam just turned into a human, and they already start making out. The way Sam, and Grace relationship is also very mature amazes me. There was none of those fights, where someone gets mad for a simple reason. If there was a fight, it was for a important matter that could alter their futures.
  • Werewolves! – This story is essentially about a werewolf named Sam, who suddenly turns into a human after a he got shot by a human. He falls in love with Grace, and together they try to look for a cure, that will help Sam stay a human forever. The way the author described werewolves, and their “condition” was pretty unique. It wasn’t the regular full moon story, it was much better than that.
  • Perfect Pacing – The story didn’t go to fast, or to slow. There was a certain mood depicted throughout the story, that seemed to add more of a feel for the book. It’s hard to put into words, if you read the book you’ll understand.

Problems 

  • BOOORING – Some parts of this book wasso irrelevant, and so boring I couldn’t help but roll my eyes at least 10 times. Things seemed repetitive, if Sam, and Grace solved one problem, ANOTHER problem would come in. I almost fell asleep reading this book.
  • Ending – I was not content with the ending at all. THIS GOES AGAINST EVERYTHING I BELIEVE IN! It was a happy ending, and I felt like that bit of the ending should’ve been included in the second book.

Capture

Grace –I found Grace a bit too serious for my taste. Her description even sounds serious! She should’ve lighten up in the book. Her narration, and voice was so stern. I found that a bit ridiculous because her parents are hardly home. Other than that, I think she was fine. She wasn’t too bad nor too good.

Sam – Sam was the perfect boyfriend. He was so innocent, and I couldn’t really imagine him as an animal. His character is a bit childish, but he istantly becomes mature when it comes to matters revoloving around his loved ones. He had a nice personality, that was niether good or bad. I wish the author worked on him a bit more. I still wanted to know more about his past, but I guess that’s for the next book.

Olivia – Insensitive, and doesn’t care about her best friend. I disliked her because of her disloyal to her best friend. How can she it out a big secret to a boy? I was surprised that Grace even forgives her, because would’ve  yelled at her.

Capture

5/5. I liked how it switched from one voice to another. Grace, and Sam sounded entirely different.

continue

3 STARS. I will not be reading the next book in the series, as if right now. I’m a bit bust, but who knows maybe in the future. I’m having a lot of mixed feelings about this book.

9 thoughts on “Shiver Book Review// Totally Different From The Raven Boys!

  1. I agree with everything you wrote in this excellent review! Except for the gorgeous, fairytale-like opening and Sam being one of the best book boyfriends ever, Shiver wasn’t one of my favorites either. Thanks to it being my first Stiefvater book, I took forever to get to The Raven Boys. So glad I did!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried this book (as in read the first chapter or so) but couldn’t get into the writing style (didn’t really dislike it but wasn’t really interested). One day I might give it another go.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked the first book enough, thought it was enjoyable. It was slow, but I think that slow but beautiful is Maggie’s calling card. (Like Raven Boys and Scorpio Races). The sequels were very disappointing though, I thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with your character opinions! I really didn’t see the significance of Olivia (she just seemed like a bad friend to me!)…perhaps her character’s role is clarified in the later books? I’m currently writing a review on Shiver over on my blog! Feel free to check it out xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

