Hush Hush Book Review

So I finally got around to reading Hush Hush, and I don’t regret a single thing. I loved this book  so much. 


hushhushTitle:  Hush, Hush

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Blurb (GR): A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE

Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

Capture

jogohme
So I made an aesthetic, shoot me

Pro’s 

  • Story – Nora is a regular high-schooler, who has a normal life.  But everything changes the day she meets Patch. Patch has a mysterious, s, dark past that he doesn’t want to share, but Nora realizes that he is actually a fallen angel. Exiled into the human world, for his misdeed. But that doesn’t stop her from falling in love with him. 

The whole “fallen angel” thing was the main feature that caught my eye. I admit I’m a sucker for book that have angels in them (I’m looking at you Mortal Instruments Series). But this was better than good, because it was much more exciting, much more action (a lot, a lot of action), and had an epic romance (which I’ll get too later). The story progressed from a boring, high-school story, to a darker, thrilling plot. Also, there weren’t much of a plot twist. Well, there is one which I also will get to late, but it wasn’t much of a twist. And I love thh wrold-building in this book. 

  • Romance – So let’s add Patch, and Nora to my list of favorite OTP’s! I love their chemistry, which was way different from your normal romance . For one thing, Patch was an extreme bad boy. He got the whole I’m-sexy-and-I-know-it personality, which was a bit frustrating at first, but he softened around Nora (which was extremely sweeeet). And he’s protective Nora, and is always there when she’s in danger. Nora put up the I’m-not-in-love-with-him-but-I-feel-a-connection act. I wanted to shake her, and say “Can you not see that you belong with this boy”. In her side of the relationship, she was a bit like the damsel-in-distress, But she understood Patch’s harsh past, and didn’t use it against him. There were a lot of cute moments between these two, and some sizzling moments, which just balanced it out. 
noragami
fluff!

Con’s 

  • Fast-paced – For one thing, it was much too fast-paced for a novel. The scenes in which there are fights, or scenes where they cause suspense were way tooo fast. This book goes to fast for my liking, and un-evened the pace  the book, as a whole. 
  • Plot Twists – In this book, the big plot twist was that Nora Nora is a descendant of the Nephilim Chauncey Langeais. In order to become human Patch had to kill the female descent of Chauncey Langeais, which is Nora. The latter part was revealed before the former, and the author gave us time to sink this in. However, when the author revealed that Nora was descent  of Chauncey Langeais, it was thrown out of the blue, and wasn’t even mentioned until later. When I mean later, I mean towards the end of the book. And the sec

Capture

 

Nora Grey – If I were to rate her, I would give her a 3.5 because she’s brave, and she fights back even when she knows it’s hopeless. She has a strong will, and mind. She’s a perfect friend, and I liked that she wasn’t the type of girl to be interested in boys. Like I mentioned before, I didn’t like that she always kept on pushing Patch away. She did have a reason in the beginning, but towards the end what was the point?

Patch – *giggles* Patch is going to be added to list of fictional boyfriend. After I got the description of him, I couldn’t stop squealing because he sounds so awesome! I also mentioned that he had an arrogant personality, but it wore off around Nora.

Vee- Vee is this fun, party-type of girl that made a really good supporting character, and an okay best friend. I say that because, I feel like she should have more faith in her best friend, and not run off to parties. Sure, Nora’s theories seemed a bit off the rocker, but essentially Nora was correct. And Vee payed the price by almost dying.

Capture

8.5/10. It was  mostly flawless, except for the pacing, but the quotes in this book were beautiful. 

Here are some quotes that I liked

“Keep in mind that people change, but the past doesn’t.”

“He was the worst kind of wrong”

continue

6 thoughts on “Hush Hush Book Review

  1. I enoyed this but I’ve gotten stuck on the fourth book in the series and haven’t finished reading it. I think by the third book I just wanted it to end so I wasn’t really up for another installment even though it was needed to finish the story. But the first book I just loved. I read it in almost one sitting because I was just completely dragged into Nora’s life.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

