P.S I Still Love You Book Review

SPOILERS AHEAD!

20698530Title: P.S I Still Love You (To All The Boys I Loved Before #2)

Author: Jenny Han

Blurb: Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Timesbestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

 

Here is my review on To All The Boys I Loved Before, and my WoW on Book #3 

 

Capture

Pro’s of the Plot 

  • Heartwarming – So much fluff! *blushes, and covers face with hands”. I don’t like relationships that are so serious, but this was half-half. This had so much cute moments, and less of the super “intimate” moments. The relationship between Peter, and Larua Jean is so easy, and carefree most of the time. But their fights, and makeups, and breakups drove the whole plot of this story. And Laura Jeans family is goals. They are so close with each other, and it’s so sweet. It’s nice to see the family not get depressed because their mom died. It’s different than the usual story (in which everyone hates each other, because someone important died).
  • Love Triangle was – should I dare say it?- believable- I am not a big fan of love triangles. I found the concept of it, very immature, and dumb. Also, you can tell who ends up with who right away. But the love triangle in this one was really hard to figure out. I was on Team Peter, but with Jenny Hans awesome writing  I found myself swaying over to Team Johnny. I couldn’t really figure out who ended up, until the end. I know a lot of people will hate on it (the word’s “love triangle” is enough to set anyone off), but a fellow blogger from The Eater of Booksalso said that the romance wasn’t bad. And Alyssa, is a serious love-triangle hater
  • Development – It was shown much more in the first book, but I liked how almost everyone in the book grew up in their own way. This was light-hearted read, but it also takes love, friendship, and trust into consideration seriously. Which allowed everyone to grow in their own way.

Problems of The Plot 

  • Too Predictable – I knew what was going to happen halfway through the book. And I desperately wanted it to be untrue, but it happened. I wish Jenny Han didn’t have to write such predictable books, because A) it takes the fun out of everything, and B) Sometimes, I don’t want the events to unfold. The events in this case, was Genevieve (let’s call her G), and her relationship with Peter. G, had some “family problems” and goes to Peter to get consoled. Laura Jean, obviously doesn’t believe this, and believes that Peter is cheating on her. Which he is not, because G’s dad is actually dating some 18-year-old, even though he has a wife, and kids. AND I DID NOT WANT IT TO BE TRUE!! I wanted G to be acting like a ” witch with a b”, and then I want Peter to say sorry, not my girl LJ!! I really hate those love stories because, it’s predictable, and I hate how it turns out!

Capture

Laura Jean – Her character in this book, was worse than the last. I found her alright, but I hated how she ruined wonderful moments with Peter, by wondering if Peter did this or that with Genevieve. She is like this paranoid girlfriend, which got on my nerves. She should learn how to trust people. Trust is one of the foundations for a relationships, right? (I can’t say anything from experiences, cause I’m a SINGLE LADY!) But she did learn from her mistakes.

Peter – Well let’s just me that he was much more frustrating than normal. This guy needs to have common sense. He goes off with his ex-girlfriend, and when having to explain it to his current girlfriend he doesn’t tell her the reason why. How does it look like to Laura Jean? If he straight-out told Laura Jean, this whole thing could’ve  been avoided.

John – John is a great character in this novel, supporting, and “love rival” (it sounds way more exciting). He was so supportive of his friends, and he also changed throughout this story as well.

Kitty – I will never get enough of her. She is so fun, and sweet, and the No. 1 best sister ever. I love how she is so slick, and smart for a girl thats only 10 years old. And in some ways she was the most mature in this book. I really want a book about Kitty, and her love life. Hopefully, it won’t be as chaotic a her older sisters! (both of them)

Capture

It’s Jenny Han guys, a solid 10/10.

My rating is a 3.5 rounded down to a 3 stars. To All The Boys I Loved Before was sooo much better than this! Sorry for the spoilers, I had to go on a full on rant!

continue

6 thoughts on “P.S I Still Love You Book Review

Leave a Reply

