Saint Anything Book Review

23009402Title: Saint Anything

Author: Sarah Dessen

Blurb: Peyton, Sydney’s charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion’s share of their parents’ attention and—lately—concern. When Peyton’s increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drunk driving conviction, and a jail sentence, Sydney is cast adrift, searching for her place in the family and the world. When everyone else is so worried about Peyton, is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?

Enter the Chathams, a warm, chaotic family who run a pizza parlor, play bluegrass on weekends, and pitch in to care for their mother, who has multiple sclerosis. Here Sydney experiences unquestioning acceptance. And here she meets Mac, gentle, watchful, and protective, who makes Sydney feel seen, really seen, for the first time.

The uber-popular Sarah Dessen explores her signature themes of family, self-discovery, and change in her twelfth novel, sure to delight her legions of fans

 

 

 

Capture

Pro’s of The Plot

  • So Heartwarming! – This book was sooo good! This is the first ever books I read from Sarah Dessen, and I have to say, I’m impressed. This was a contemporary novel focusing on Sydney Stanford, whose older brother is famous for being a troublesome kid. All she wants to do is become invisible, somewhere no one will judge her because of her brother. But all of that changes when Sydney meets Layla, and becomes her best friend. This book is about the importance of friendship, trust, and a little bit of romance. AND IT

And it was so awesome, and wonderful, and every time I think of this novel there is this warm fuzzy feeling in stomach!!!

  • A lot of meaning –  It goes so much deeper than your typical romance novel. It doesn’t rely heavily on the romance, and is much more head on about friendship, and tragedy, and so much character development. It was like watching babies grow up!
  • Realistic – Contemporaries are based on real life, but this was all to realistic. Almost half of the time I was like “I totally get you Sydney, totally”. It was like those Teenager Posts, but really long, and cooler.
  • Romance – Romance was so fluffy, and sweet I just want to giggle,and cover my face with my hands. But if I actually did that I would look like  a freak.

But, I loved Macs, and Sydney’s chemistry, and how it wasn’t anything too lovesick, or so so so heavy on the romance, but just right.

Capture

Sydney – 4 stars. She was a great character. She was smart, not ignorant, had a nice personality. Her guilt over her brother running over David Ibarra explained how nice she was. The only thing was that she played the “please notice me” card. I mean, throughout the whole book she was like “I want to be invisible, but I don’t want to be”. But that flaw was kind of ran the whole plot of the story.

Mac – God I love him. He was sooo perfect. An honest, down to earth type of guy, sounds pretty cool, smart, and not to mention cute. I wish I knew more about his fat- to skinny story. He was a great supporting character.

Layla – Layla is total best friend goals. She is so fun. spontaneous, and cheerful, but always ready to get down to business when needed to. She takes her friends (and fries) very seriously. But I hate the idea of her falling for the wrong guy all the time. That doesn’t really fit with her smart personality.

Capture

9/10. The writing just flowed. One minute I was in real-life, and when I opened the book BAM! I’m in Sydney world. It was so elegant. eloquent, and so great. This was one of my favorite parts of the book.

continue

5 thoughts on “Saint Anything Book Review

Leave a Reply

