Warning: Cuteness Overload -To All The Boys I Loved Before Book Review

15749186Title: To All The Boys I Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

Blurb (GR): To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all

 

Capture

Lara Jean’s has lots of crushes, but the most real, and important ones were Peter Kavinsky (who stole her first kiss), and Josh (her sister’s boyfriend). And one horrifying day, Lara Jeans letters have been sent out! Every single letter including, the one to Josh. In order to save face, Lara Jean teams up with Peter (who also got the letter) and pretends to be a couple. But what happens if Lara Jean starts to fall for Peter too?

Pro’s 

  • Super Fun – This book was so fun to read. I normally don’t read contemporaries, because I find them boring, and predictable, but this was an exception. I loved how everything just smoothly laid out, and I love Lara Jeans family. There so many parts of this book that made me laugh, and bite my lip in anticipation.
  • THE POTTER REFERENCES – This mentions Harry Potter. And mentions it’s importance, and that alone is a good book for me.
  • biodiversity I’m so glad Jenny Han went and created a diverse character. Lara Jean is HALF-KOREAN! Which is much better from other contemporaries because A) I can totally relate to the #asianfeels and B) It makes the book much more interesting. 
  • Realistic (sort-of) – This is crazy, but I totally get how Lara Jean feels toward boys Well my  crushes were always from books or animes, so not personally, but on a girl to girl level. Crushes don’t go away that easily, and a little part of them still remains in your heart. So I did not find it crazy when Lara Jean couldn’t choose between Josh, and Pete

Cons

  • Ending – I was not satisfied with the ending. It just created a whole new questions for me

Capture

Lara Jean – If I were to rate her I would give her 3.5 stars because she sometimes sounded like an annoying little kid. And close to the ending, I hated how she reacted to Peters confession. The signs were right there, and she chose to ignore it. But I did like her character development, and the way she finally chose to be her own person, rather than be like her sister.

Peter – He is just great. I love his personality, and the cute ways he represents his love from Lara Jean.  And the way he adjusts to Lara Jeans family is perfect. The author doesn’t make him seem to perfect, which is perfect.

Margot – While she is essentially a background character, I hate her. She was bossy, and I hated how she puts huge expectations on Lara Jean. I also don;t get her motive for breaking up with Josh. It was evident that Margot likes him after the breakup, yet she stills go on. I did admire the strength, she showed but her cons outweigh the pros.

Kitty – She is too good to be true! I wish I had an awesome 9-year-old sister like her. She was basically the one who caused everything to happen between Peter and Lara Jean, and that’s why I like her. She is also low key savage. I appreciate that in any character.

Capture

7/10. The writing style, well it didn’t make sense at first, but it gradually got better.

Rating: 4.5 rounded down to 4 stars.

continue

5 thoughts on “Warning: Cuteness Overload -To All The Boys I Loved Before Book Review

Leave a Reply

