Rebellion, Revolution, and Rememberance – The 100 Book Review

17332969

Title: The 100

Author: Kass Morgan

Blurb (GR): No one has set foot on Earth in centuries — until now.

Ever since a devastating nuclear war, humanity has lived on spaceships far above Earth’s radioactive surface. Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents — considered expendable by society — are being sent on a dangerous mission: to recolonize the planet. It could be their second chance at life…or it could be a suicide mission.

CLARKE was arrested for treason, though she’s haunted by the memory of what she really did. WELLS, the chancellor’s son, came to Earth for the girl he loves — but will she ever forgive him? Reckless BELLAMY fought his way onto the transport pod to protect his sister, the other half of the only pair of siblings in the universe. And GLASS managed to escape back onto the ship, only to find that life there is just as dangerous as she feared it would be on Earth.

Confronted with a savage land and haunted by secrets from their pasts, the hundred must fight to survive. They were never meant to be heroes, but they may be mankind’s last hope.

 

My book of the month!

Capture

The 100 takes place in the future. Earth has been hit with a nuclear war, that made the radiation flare, and almost kill the entire human race. In order to survive, humans have lived in ships, out in space, with strict rules, and laws. Earth has never been stepped on by a human for 300 years.

Until now.

*dramatic music playing*

100 of teenage prisoners ranging from 12-18, are being sent down to earth, to check if it’s safe to live on. Bellamy is protective over his sister, Clarke is super mad at her ex-boyfriend, and Glass… Well Glass is complicated.

This mostly revolved a lot around romance, and laid less on the action. Espesically, when told in Glass’s point of view. I found that annoying, because A) It’s really boring, and B) it wasn’t even great.

There was a subtle love triangle between Clarke, Bellamy, and Wells, which just made me very irritated because I don’t like love triangles. And I hated this one. Hated might be a very strong word, but the amount of dislike I had for this is close to hatred. I could do a whole rant on them, but that’s for another post. Anyway, this triangle was still better than Glass’s romance.

I didn’t like Glass (more on that below), and her romance. The situation is kind of pathetic. I did not enjoy her at all, and found her boring.

There were also some scenes where it is all mashed up, and sounds rushed. Some of those sences were also fast paced. Like, it starts out with a bang, then ends up with a what. That also was a little annoying.

But, I still LOVED this book. And the ending was also awesome!!

Capture

Clarke – Overall, I would rate her as a three stars. She was smart, determined, and bold. She also had this leadership quality inside her, that I admire. But she was a little bossy. First off, I hated how she kept on going from Wells to Bellamey, then back to Wells. And at the end of the book she is with Bellamey. I also hate how she is so serious.

Wells – I don’t like this one. I don’t like Wells because his character is so annoying, and so cliche. He is always hungover Clarke. I wished he went after someone else ’cause it’s getting old. The only thing he is obssesed with is Clarke. And so cliche. I mean he says that his broken heart can’t be fixed by medicine. I almost stopped reading this book.

Bellamy – I loved Bellamy! I think he’s great for Clarke, and love his protective side that he shows for his sister. The show Bellamy sucks, but the book Bellamy is cool. THIS IS WHY BOOKS ARE BETTER THAN THE SHOW PEOPLE!

Glass- I hate her. I found irrelevant to the story. Well she kind of was important because it’s from her we found out some stuff (trying to make it no spoiler #thestruggleisreal) about the ship, but I still hate her. She is annoying, and pathetic.

Capture

8/10. It was okay, but good at the same time. It has this robotic tone in some scenes, but they were really minor.

One thought on “Rebellion, Revolution, and Rememberance – The 100 Book Review

Leave a Reply

