A Judge a Book By It’s Cover Mistake – The Conspiracy of Us Book Review

17134589

Title: The Conspiracy of Us

Author: Maggie Hall

Blurb (GR): A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.

CaptureI didn’t get this book, at all. I was really confused about what was happening. I understood that, there are two powerful group The Order, and the Circle. The Circle are these good guys, who also accidentally started Word War II (okay it wasn’t an accident). They are made up of 12 families (magic number here), and are said to be descendants of something related to Alexander the Great. Avery is part of a prophecy, She will marry the One (a.k.a the one who will save the world, and destroy The Order, a.k.a the bad guys), and will be killed if the Circle (said to be good guys) finds out something about her. Or something.

Like I said, I was very confused throughout this book.

The plot was also very, very , very unrealistic. I though this would be a YA novel, with a deadly mystery. I did not expect magic. I mean, there wasn’t that much magic, but there was magic. The magic didn’t really fit in with the whole book, especially the prophecy. That was just weird.

The way Avery, and Jack just unraveled clues was too easy to be true. Not even after 5 minutes of looking they suddenly find everything they need. To make it a bit more realistic, there should have been more time to look for the clues.

NO PLOT TWISTS! No plot twists made this book,, boring, and unpredictable. It was pretty obvious about who was the One. What will happen, and what will pop up next.

The romance has a sort of love triangle. At first its subtle. And when we all thought Jack, and Avery would end up together-BAM- Avery starts falling for Stellan. In truth, I am on #TeamStellan because Stellan sounds very cool, and wonderful. I don’t like Jack, but more on that later. And the book ends with “Looks like we’re getting married” which was said by Stellan. WHICH means hopefully they end up together. *Crosses fingers* But sometimes the book reminded me of Vampire Diaries.

Capture

 

“Toska.” He leaned forward, too. “It’s a Russian word. It has no translation into any other language, but the closest I’ve heard is the ache. A longing. The sense that something is missing, and even if you’re not sure what it is, you ache for it. Down to your bones.”

Stellan – ASDFGHJKL

I know I start with the main, main character, but #yolo. THIS BOY! He is awesome, sarcastic, beautiful, and tough, and I’m #fangirling, but…#yolo (I know everyone is hating me for this but… no I’m not going to say that) BUT LIKE ASDFGHJKL GUYS! He could be cocky sometimes, but that’s only a little bit.

Avery – If I were to judge her mostly a three stars. I mean she was okay, but she could’ve been better. Her cons is that she acted so dumb, and blind by the promise, of meeting a family. She was overreacting, because she didn’t have that much of a bad family situation. Her pros was that she was smart. She becomes less insecure throughout the novel, and more confident-ish.

Jack – Not my fave, but he was okay. He sounded plain, and boring. And a little dumb, since he put all his faith in the Circle.

Capture

8/10. This maybe the only thing good after Stellan.

continue

Suprisingly, I will read the next book, although it will be much later…

 

Advertisements

One thought on “A Judge a Book By It’s Cover Mistake – The Conspiracy of Us Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s