The Girl Who Loved This Book (a.k.a me)- Girl In The Blue Coat Book Review

26030682

Title: Girl In The Blue Coat

Author: Monica Hesse

Blurb (GR): Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days finding and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the German army invaded. Her illegal work keeps her family afloat, and Hanneke also likes to think of it as a small act of rebellion against the Nazis.

On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman’s frantic plea to find a person: a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such a dangerous task but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations—where the only way out is through.

Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary, unforgettable story of bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.

This book was a really good book.

 

CaptureIn 1943 Nazi-occupied Amsterdam, teenage Hanneke-a finder of black market goods is tasked with finding a Jewish girl a customer had been hiding, who has seemingly vanished into thin air, and is pulled into a web of resistance activities and secrets as she attempts to solve the mystery, and save the missing girl – Publisher

You know, after reading The Book Thief, I was not ready for another World War II historical fiction. That book broke my heart. I decided to try it out anyway because the blurb sounded really interesting. And I was glad. Very glad I picked up this book, because it’s such an engaging read.

The plot twistsThere were a lot of plot twists, and some just came out of the blue. But, other than that there were some parts of these toy that I didn’t really see coming. I liked how the book showed that a couple of teenagers could be part of something so big, that saves lives.

The romance… There wasn’t a lot of romance, but I really wanted Ollie, and Hanneke to end up together, but Ollie is actually is in  love with his roommate Willem. And you know, my heart broke, but I’m not all that sad.

The action… there was action. There wasn’t fighting scenes. But it was very, very tense. This book was basically like secret spies trying to save lives (that rhymes!). So there was the classic disguise-costume trick.  Some of the scenes were unrealistic because it’s so absurd, it’s a wonder they haven’t been caught.

 

Capture

Hanneke – I really didn’t like her because I found her selfish. Selfish, and a little bit annoying (I know I say that about everyone). Selfish because she wanted information, but she won’t give anything in return. She was wanted, she was useful. But she chose to not help. She changes, but only helps ONE TIME. And the resistance gave her information, and help her. Annoying because she won’t move on from Bas.

Ollie- I like Ollie. Hanneke finds him too serious, but I find him smart, and he would be a better main character than Hanneke. I find it surprising that he likes Willem. I wanted him to end up with Hanneke, but it will be weird if Hanneke ended up liking her dead boyfriends brother.

 

Capture

During the action scenes, the writing style made it seem very, very tense. Overall, it was great, and well written!

continue

 

2 thoughts on “The Girl Who Loved This Book (a.k.a me)- Girl In The Blue Coat Book Review

  1. I absolutely adore ww2 historical fiction and I’d never heard of this – thank you so much for bringing it to my attention! I’m putting it on my TBR. The Book Thief is one of my favourite novels, as is ‘All The Light We Cannot See’ which is another in this genre! Have you read it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

