Too Funny To Be True – My Lady Jane Book Review

22840421Title: My Lady Jane

Author: Jodi Meadows, Brodi Aston, and Cynthia Hand.

Blurb: The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.

Capture

Never has a book make me laugh so much. Until, My Lady Jane. This had everything for a good HF comedy.

This is basically, a retelling of Lady Jane. For those of you who don’t know your history, Jane became Queen of England for only nine days, until Mary killed her, and became the rightful queen. There is a happily ever after, with a twist. All of  those things you believe go right out the window.

The plot, and action doesn’t really, really begin until 100 pages, maybe 180 pages into the story. Trust me, you won’t mind. The authors (Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, and Brodi Ashton) keep you entertained with lines from Princess Bride, and Monty Python. THE REFERENCES ARE REAL GUYS!! I love how everything just seem to fit together, like one big happy pie.  These three authors are the ultimate trio.

The romance was so funny. I know I’m saying that about everything in here, but romance was the funniest. This was a hate-to-love relationship. And you should now, those are my favorite. The arguments, and the sweet moments were just #goals. How they became closer, and close was *dreamy sigh*. I ship Grifford, and Jane.

And it’s awesome how it doesn’t just put the spotlight on Grifford, and Jane. It shed some light on the minor characters like Edward (though, I wouldn’t call him too minor), Gracie, and Bess.

There were plot twists, but those I was able to see coming. Some fighting scenes were rushed, and left me a little unsatisfied. But the pro’s outweigh the con’s big time.

Capture

Jane – THIS GIRL!

OMG she is probably the best protagonist ever!! *squeals*

She is a total bookworm, and maybe because of that I feel connected to her in a bibliophile level. I mean look at this:

“I don’t recall you mentioning anything about bending the spine of a book.”

Alarm filled her. “Put down the book”. She wanted to look away…but she could not take her eyes off the book. What if he hurt it?

– Page 120 My Lady Jane 

WOULD YOU NOT FEEL THE SAME?! Except maybe I would smack G because how dare you touch my book!

She’s bold,she’s brave, and she is not sexist. She’s perfect. I really like her sense of loyalty, and how she matured through the book. While she did act a little bratty in the beginning, she quickly changed that.

Edward – If I were to rate him, I would give him three stars (not on his looks, on his personality). I didn’t like reading from his P.O.V that much, because I really didn’t like his character. He was always pitying HIMSELF. While he was dying, all he could think of was his own foolish wishes. I get that he’s dying, and all that, but that still irritated me (so I guess that means I really don’t get it). But he did changed. He didn’t rely on his power of being King, to get things done. He used himself to get done. And, he got his silly school-girl dreams.

G (a.k.a Grifford) – I’m calling him G not because I;m lazy (maybe a little bit), but because he hated being called Grifford. I like G, as a character, He’s funny, poetic (he’s like Shakespeare, literally), and sweet. He’s different from the rest of his family. He didn’t let his father wear him down, and turn him into  a dampened old lad.

Capture

You could cleary tell who wrote who. The writing styles vary from character to character. That’s good because you don’t want the characters to sound the same. Like I said, the trio put a lighthearted comedic approach to the retelling. The flow was perfect too.

continue

One thought on “Too Funny To Be True – My Lady Jane Book Review

Leave a Reply

