Bewitching Book Review

11859244

Title: Bewitching

Author: Alex Flinn

Blurb (GR): Bewitching can be a beast. . . .

Once, I put a curse on a beastly and arrogant high school boy. That one turned out all right. Others didn’t.

I go to a new school now—one where no one knows that I should have graduated long ago. I’m not still here because I’m stupid; I just don’t age.

You see, I’m immortal. And I pretty much know everything after hundreds of years—except for when to take my powers and butt out.

I want to help, but things just go awry in ways I could never predict. Like when I tried to free some children from a gingerbread house and ended up being hanged. After I came back from the dead (immortal, remember?), I tried to play matchmaker for a French prince and ended up banished from France forever. And that little mermaid I found in the Titaniclifeboat? I don’t even want to think about it.

Now a girl named Emma needs me. I probably shouldn’t get involved, but her gorgeous stepsister is conniving to the core. I think I have just the thing to fix that girl—and it isn’t an enchanted pumpkin. Although you never know what will happen when I start . . . bewitching.

Even though, I found Beastly really bad I decided to read the next book in the series called Bewitching. This one was way better, and didn’t have to anything with the previous story Beastly. I’m wondering how Beastly got turned into a movie, but Bewitching didn’t.

                                                                  Plot

This was a way better fairy re telling of Cinderella.  I can’t say it was fantastic, awesome, and I love it. But I can say it was better than Beastly.

Emma Bailey was always called ugly, and a freak. But, it didn’t matter because she still has her family. Her dad loves her to death, and her mom is not… what you call the nicest mom ever, but she was there. Fact #1: Emma’s dad is not really her dad, he’s her stepdad, but he loves her all the same. Fact #2: Her new step-sister might just ruin everything. Her relationship with her dad, her relationship with this adorable boy at school. And humiliate her even more. Kendra (the witch who cursed Kyle from Beastly) steps in to help. With just a little magic things might go her way… or not. Where’s there magic, there’s always a risk.

There were somethings I found highly irrelevant. Mostly, about Kendra. So I skipped those parts because it was boring, and Emma’s story was way better.

The plot about Emma, and her stepsister was actually pretty interesting. It was creative, and how the author portrayed  Emma’s connection to her dad, and the way Lisette broke it, was great.

What I didn’t like was that, Lisette’s reason for ruining Emma’s life. In the story she says, it’s because she wants it all, because she never had it before.

That’s like Itachi murdering his own clan because “he wanted to test his abilities” (if you watch Naruto, you’ll get it). That’s complete BS. I’m getting worked up over this because the “villain” in this story was a huge disappointed. I’ll get more on that later.

There was a plot twist that actually caught me off-guard. But the rest were pretty predictable. Sometimes, this book was making me feel like I was watching Mean Girls again.

                                                             Characters

The characters wasn’t that bad, but could be worked on.

Emma – Emma was acting really dumb. Really dumb. It was pretty obvious that Courtney and her posse hated her, and they will do anything to ruin her life. And pretty obvious that Lisette  is plotting to also ruin her life. I do like he fact that she was way more humanly than others. Instead of telling Kendra, to change her whole face into a prettier version, she just wanted for Wren to see Lisette for the horrible bitch she is, and come back to Emma. Emma was smart in that sense. I also didn’t like that she was focused solely on Warner. Because, Lisette wasn’t already being a jerk to her.

Lisette: She can be summed up in these following words

Mean. Rude. Obnoxious. Bitchy

That’s what made her the perfect mean girl. In some stories, the mean girls aren’t mean enough. This one stole Emma’s dad, and boyfriend. She’s savage. I’m not rooting for her, but I admit it she’s a good mean girl. But other than that I hated her. For the obvious reasons of course she was mean. But, without her there would be no story

Kendra- This was supposed to be about Kendra’s origin, and how she became a witch, and show a better part of her. I found her full of herself.

                                                             Writing Style

It was way better than Beastly. Although, in Kendra’s section it went back to amateur level.

                                                            Final Rating

continue

3 stars. Not a favorite, but don’t hate it either

One thought on “Bewitching Book Review

Leave a Reply

