The Star-Touched Queen Book Review

the-star-touched-queen-high-res

Title: The Star Touched Queen

 

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Blurb (GR): Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

Ahhh. I feel like I haven’t done a full review in ages! This book was my anticipated novels. Everyone was saying great things about it, and I finally got my hands on this!

Plot 

This book is based on Indian mythology, which was great! I love all types of mythology, but I don’t know a lot about Indian.

Maya’s horoscope decides once, and for all who she really is. She brings Death everywhere she goes. People in her fathers kingdom treat her like trash. But on a fateful day, Maya’s father (the king) decides to host a swayamvara. Sort of like a contest to decide her husband. All to save her kingdom. But Maya somehow finds her in a terrible situation. Only to be saved by the mysterious prince of Akaran. Gradually, she finds herself falling in love with this prince. Until, a lie shatters the beautiful world she once knew…

Like I said, it was a great novel, but I did have a few problems with it. For one thing, the plot seemed a little jumbled up, and very confusing towards the end. And the timing in the end seemed fast paced for my liking.

There is also a lot of reincarnation stuff, which I wanted to stay away from ever since reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone. This was better organized, and more understandable. And I love how Maya got to see all her past lives, and how they connected with Amar.

PLOT TWIST, PLOT TWIST!

So many of those, which just kept the book interesting.

 

static

Characters 

Maya – I liked her very much. From only the beginning to the middle. When it came to the end, she was getting on my nerves!

Maya was weak in the beginning, but she was smart, and slick. I liked that about her. She did keep on letting all the harem wives get under her skin though, which was not something I expect for someone partnered with death. Maya was not a boring character. I just love her fierce personality, and her ability to keep us (readers that is) on our toes.

That was in the beginning.

In the end, I was very disappointed on how easily she was fooled by Nimitri. And how she kept on wasting time on other things than her main goal, which was GET TO AMAR. If I were her I would run and not stop until I found Amar (but then I wouldn’t be easily fooled)

Amar – I wish I could know more about him. Amar is the love interest of Maya. And he is the Dharma Raja. He is partnered with Death. Or he is Death. The book doesn’t really explain well what he is. I can’t write that much about him because we don’t know that much about him! But, I do know that his love for Maya, is like Jace’s love for Clary. Yes, it’s that deep. I didnt’t really like how he kept some important stuff away from Maya because he wanted her “to discover it herself” which just resulted in Maya running away. He reminds me of Khalid from The Wrath and The Dawn. 

Writing Style 

This a debut book, and really the writing style was very exotic in its own way. It had a sense of something mystic. This fit the book because it is based on Indian Mythology, and has a lot of mystery to it.

continue

continue

4 stars! And I hear there is a new book coming out based on Maya’s half sister Gauri! I CAN’T WAIT!

5 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen Book Review

  1. I finally purchased this book last month. I haven’t read it yet but it’s definitely high up on my TBR! I love mythology too and it’s nice to see more books that aren’t always about the same cultures or areas of the world — Egypt, Greece and Rome come to mind. Thanks for the great review! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Your review hit on exactly the same strengths and weaknesses I saw in The Star-Touched Queen. Especially at the beginning of the book, I really liked Maya too. When the wacky horse-demon entered the scene things kinda started going downhill.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

