The Blood of Olympus Book Review

51zoix-31qlTitle: The Blood of Olympus
Author: Rick Riordan

Blurb (GR): Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

Percy Jackson has come to an end.

Let the hangover begin.

I flew through this book. It went to fast, and now I’m so sad to say goodbye to this series. I loved everything about this book, from the characters, all the way to the back of the cover.

Capture

Rick Riordan is a truly, exceptionally,  awesome author. His characters are so witty, funny, and smart. And they sound beautiful. What’s  a more better combination?

Leo Valdez- Me and Leo have grown really close over the past 5 books. At first, I found him annoying. Oh so very annoying. But, I saw why he made those bad jokes (they weren’t that bad) and I overcame his annoyingness. So when I heard rumours that Leo Valdez was going to die, I will give Riordan a taste of my wrath, that will send even Zeus for his money. And I’m really happy for Leo in the end, but seriously that cliff-hanger though! Leo has grown a lot during these books, and it’s hard to imagine him as a 17 year old teenager. I just imagine Leo.

Piper McLean – Next to Annabeth, she’s my next favorite character. And I’m amazed on how much she grew on the course of these 5 books. It was like watching your own baby grow up ( or at least I think it is, I never had one). She went from a girl who was nothing to a freaking giant-slayer. I could already imagine her as the next warrior princess.

Jason Grace – I literally have no idea what to say. I felt like he was like Percy except Roman version, and less funny, and less awesome. I didn’t really connect with Jason, and I felt like Rioradn could’ve done a much better job developing Jason.

Nico di Angelo – AHHHHHH! I’m so excited that Nico had more points of view in this book. In Blood of Olympus  I connected with him, and it’s amazing that he went from depressed dude to happy dude. And I sense and oncoming relationship with Will Solace. Their chemistry is undeniable!! At first, I thought it would be Nico and Reyna, because they got real close during the trip. But, to me they didn’t match. Nico grew up a lot since we first met him way, way, way back during The Lightning Thief. 

Capture

1o more days, and then Mother-Earth goes Halo: Spartan Strike on teenagers Piper, Percy, Annabeth, Leo, Hazel, Frank, and Jason. The Roman and Greek demigods, who were chosen to defeat Gaea. A mission, in where 1 of them will die. Giants, monsters from Tarutus all coming back to kill them all. And if they do manage to survive, and kill Mother-Earth the question is will the Camps still be standing when they return? With Camp Jupiter, and Camp Half-Blood at war, no one knows. Shocking news, deadly battles, and the courage, and intelligence all come into play as the Final Battle falls upon the 7 chosen one’s…

First, the ending. This book didn’t satisfy me. It left me on a cliffhanger and, I DO NOT LIKE CLIFF-HANGERS. And the ending was that type of ending, that just stood in your head all they long. Your just dying to find out what happens. And it just didn’t suit me, that ending. We all saw it coming though. From the moment Leo told Hazel and Frank, we knew that Leo was going to sacrifice himself, and still try to find out where his long-lost girlfriend is. But, why did Leo have to do so much for this one girl. I understand, that it was an oath on River Styx, but why!! Now we will never know what happens. PLEASE RICK RIORDAN CONTINUE THE SERIES!!

Second, the fight scenes. I can’t believe it took only a few charm-speak words from Piper, and an explosion with Leo to end everything. They should have done that before. The final battle is the only scene I have a problem with. It was just so easy. Too easy for my taste. But in my opinion, Riordan was never good with “the final battle” scene’s. Except for maybe in Lightning Thief. 

My favorite one was toward the end, when all the Olympians came and were fighting with their children. It was so awesome!

The plot in general was interesting, and easy to understand, if you read the other books.

Capture

Rick Riordan is one of those authors, who can draw you in, spit you it and leave you wanting more. His voice in the books are so talented, He could switch from anger to happiness, with an ease only talented authors can. It is told from a teenagers point of view, and sounds like one too. Of course, it always has that humorous side’s that everyone loves.

Hawkeye


Happy Notes

One thought on “The Blood of Olympus Book Review

Leave a Reply

