Crown of Midnight Review

17167166
Title: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)
Author: Sarah J. Mass

Blurb (GR): Celaena Sardothien is the king’s Champion—yet she is far from loyal to the crown, for the man she serves is bent on evil. But working against her master in secret is no easy task. As Celaena tries to untangle the mysteries buried within the glass castle, she can trust no one, not even her supposed allies Crown Prince Dorian, Captain of the Guard Chaol, and foreign princess Nehemia.

Then, an unspeakable tragedy shatters Celaena’s world. She must decide once and for all where her loyalties lie . . . and whom she will fight for.

An action-packed and romantic adventure that readers “will never want to leave” (Kirkus Reviews), the next chapter in this smash hit New York Times best-selling series is sure to please Sarah Maas’s enormous and ever-growing fan-base–and to set the stage for an explosive third book.

 

I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!! It just gave me the feels. There was a lot more action in here than the first book, and a lot of stuff just happened. SPOILER ALERTS AHEAD!  This part of Throne of Glass Celebration Week 

Capture

The characters were great. Some I favor more than others.

First off, the way Sarah J. Mass shaped up everything so well. This time Dorian was a little less annoying. And more quiet.

Celaena is awesome! The author shaped her up really good. She is so much better than Celaena in Book 1. In Throne of Glass, it showed only parts of the real kick-butt she really is. I felt that in this book, we find out a lot more about her and her past. Her past helps me understand, why she’s the way she is (try saying that 10 times fast). And believe me in this book we find out a lot about her.

Chaol!! I love Chaol he’s awesome! And so kind, and caring. He totally deserves to be with Chaol! So many exclamation marks! In this story we see a more of a softer side. The part that would do anything for the ones he loves. He is not blindly loyal to the King. He’s more different than I thought he would be. He understand Celaena more better than Dorain.

Thing’s just got really weird for Dorian Havilliard, the heir to the throne. He has magic. That his own father outlawed. The same father who will kill him, if he found out. I think in this book, Dorian held more importance than he did in the first book. He went through a lot of development, and he’s going to go through more. And then, he’s going to turn into a King. But the good kind, not the stupid king like his dad. I still find him annoying. I feel like it’s him that stops Chaol and Celeana from being together.

Capture (a.k.a spoiler land)

In a way this was like the first book because there was a lot of riddles, and another creature came to harm Celeana. 2 actually. This book had the element of surprise, It was used on me a lot. And I gasped a lot during this book.

I was really surprised that Celeana wasn’t killing people. That’s a very un-Celeana thing to do. despicable-me-minion-saying-what

But then I realized that this was just Celeana taking a stand against her employer; the king. And I was like ezgif-com-gif-maker1okay that makes sense.

About 400 pages later…

CELEANA IS FAE! AND SHE HAS POWERS! MAGICAL POWERS! AND DOES DORIAN!

Never in a million years would I have imagined that Celeana was fae! I mean we all expected something big to happen, but THIS IS HUGE!

And even worse, Nehmia died. She was a real friend to Celeana. But when Archer revealed that Chaol knew about Nehmia’s  “questioning”, Celeana ran really fast. So that could’ve been some of her Fae powers coming out. I have a lot of questions about the Fae powers. Is it just in elements or in different powers? THIS WORLD IS SO FASCINATING !

Chaol and Celaena’s relationship grew a lot throughout this book (and I’m so happy), bu then it got teared up. It was really Chaol’s part. I mean you couldv’e just told her about Nehmia! But I guess his hormones got in the way.

Dorian and Celaena’s relationship distanced, but then was brought together kind of in the end. Maybe I’m wrong, but it will be kind of a pattern. One book it will be about Celaena, and Dorian, the other it will be Celaena and Chaol.

I usually don’t like love triangles, and I don’t like this, but at the same time I do. It adds more drama, and it’s unpredictable. A book you can tell the ending of is super boring. But, you ever can tell who Celanea likes/end up with.

Capture

The writing structure and flow is good. The author has a similar type of writing as shown in the first book. It set’s a dark and moody tune, to Celaena’s period of greif.

Rating

5 stars

Capture

 

 

2 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight Review

Leave a Reply

