Reading Slumps and How to Get Out Of Them

I have been a little AWOL lately, because I have been in an Avengers hangover (my new favorite movie), and a big reading slump.

But I did get over the hangover (sort of) and the reading slump, so here are my tips for you.

Here is my defenition of a reading slump: Bookish Hell.

I mean we’re readers, reading is basically our life. And when you can’t read one, it’s the worst feeling ever.

 

1) Booktube

When you need some reading motivation, go on Youtube and watch some book reccomendations video, or a book review. Your most likely want to pick up a book then.

Some Recommended Channels (not sponsored)

Sasha – abooktopia

Tasha -tashapolis

Emma – emmmabooks

2) Take a Break

I’m pretty sure everyone says this, but sometimes you can get tired of reading. So you should just take a break and try something else. But that doesn’t mean you have to quit reading. Eventually, you’re going to want to pick up a book. Eventually. In the mean time, just watch some old DC or Marvel superhero shows like Batman Beyond (I’m up to Season 1) or Teen Titans (BEST SHOW EVERRRR)

3) Outside of the Genre

If you usually like reading Urban Fantasy (like me), and your in a reading slump try something new like historical fiction or dystopian. I usually don’t do this, I like to stick to fantasy.

 

4) Reread

In one of my past reading slumps, I remember reading Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets again, and this was me:

cute-girl-loves-her-book-illustration-art-animated-gif
source

 

I was in love with reading all over again.

5) Re-organize Your Shelf

Just look through your TBR shelves, and you’ll most likely fin an interesting read.

6) Book recommendations

Check out my Book recommendations, to find out where the good books at.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Reading Slumps and How to Get Out Of Them

    • I totally agree! I’m glad I’m not the only one who finds that to be true. Two months ago I began reading a true crime book that was very average (in my opinion) and did not interest me that much… But I was halfway through and too stubborn to give up on it. Instead I began reading another book, then another one, never finishing anything. And there I finally ended up with a small pile of unfinished books that I did not feel like finishing! You now what, I stopped reading for about a week or two, and when I met my wonderful new friend Mel (author of Paperback Darling blog) we started having interesting conversations about books and I FINALLY decided to donate that pile of book and actually starting something that I truly enjoy. Now I’m back in the game, woo!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I like the idea of taking a small break. It saves you from forcing yourself to read and I find it takes away the fun of it when it’s forced. Ugh, I hate reading slumps. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

