I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson Book Review

Review posted here : Nerd In New York 

sun_375wTitle: I’ll Give You The Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Blurb (GR): A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author ofThe Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Rating: ❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

 

As yo can see I went a little overboard with the hearts! That’s how good it was.

     I’ll Give You The Sun was AMAZING. Freaking amazing. I want to slap myself for not reading it sooner. This book kept on leaving me like OMG! The revelations, the writing, the voice. Everything was so god-damn beautiful!

First it was the revelations. Everything was like a tornado. The good kind ( is there a good kind?). I did not see the ending coming! Who knew that Noah’s mom loved the famous sculptor? I really hate predictable books, because they are sooo boring. This  left me guessing till  the end! In the last chapters, I had to pause and  just process things in.

Second, the voice. When Noah is speaking  it actually sounds like a 13-year-old. The voice just sucked me in, into Noah and Judy’s world. And I love their world. It’s a little sad, but I still love it. It’s character development was shown throughout the story many times. Judy, turned into a different Judy. A Judy that acts tough.

The juxtaposition, and the way it was written was boo-ti-ful! I loved the fact of Noah and Judy telling a story from different ages, and sides.

Noah and Judy. Judy and Noah! Oh my Clark Gable, such complex characters!So beautiful. It’s like they are opposites. They are complete oppisites! But there grieving and pain binds them together! Oscar and Guillermo are like puzzles. No matter how hard they are, you want to complete it.

The first 100 (or 200) were a little depressing. Like “Why so depressed Nelson?”. But I guess that was the point because, in the end is less depressing.  But, it gives the book a little character. Not everything is so happy.

Let’s face the real truth people. Judy Sweetwine got raped. What?!! But, it’s technically true. Judy didn’t want to do it. Zephyr did it. BAM you got a rape story. But unlike Melinda, from Speak. Judy, doesn’t get all suicidal and stuff. I wouldn’t say she really ignored it either. I’m amazed, how Nelson just left it like that. Then again, there was her mom’s death and stuff. Like I said, so depressing. \

I feel like I talked to much about Judy, so let’s go on to Noah. Noah. How to describe Noah? I say he’s a dreamer, a revolutionary. But embarrassing, weird? No, no way. His character teared the book apart. He made the ground shake. He destroyed everything and then re=built. But better.

Another reason why this book set other’s apart? It’s because of Noah being a homosexual guy. And you know what I think? He’s beautiful. A little cliché ( A misfit who falls in love, an then feels everything is perfect)but beautiful. He broke my heart with his pain and perseverance. Just broke it.

 

In all it was a great book. definitely, a must-read.

 

 

 

One thought on “I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson Book Review

Leave a Reply

